Lord, Here am I… But Send Somebody Else

Isaiah 6:8   –  “Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom, shall I send?  And who will go for us?”  And I said, ‘Here I am, Send me!”

Exodus 4:10-17 – “But Moses said, ‘O Lord, please send someone else to do it.” (4:13)

David Platt in his book Radical told of a time he was in a church speaking about his mission work in New Orleans and in countries around the world.  After he spoke, the pastor of the church said:  “Brother David, we are so excited about all that God is doing in New Orleans and in all nations, and we are excited that you are serving there.  And brother, we promise that we will continue to send you a check so we don’t have to go there ourselves.”  If that isn’t stunning enough, he continued by saying:  “I remember a time at my last congregation when a missionary from Japan came to speak.  I told that congregation that if they didn’t give financial support to this missionary, I was going to pray that God would send their kids to Japan to serve with that missionary.”  David wrote:  “Wow.  Did he just threaten his congregation with the punishment of going to the world?”  (Radical, p. 63.)

When it comes to missions are we like Isaiah (Here I am, send me.) or like Moses (Here I am, Send Aaron.)?  In my own life I have questioned God about what I am doing in Nashville.  Working retail 40 hours a week was NOT part of the plan God.  But my focus cannot be on my personal comforts but on the mission God has for me here.  I am praying:  “Here I am.  Keeping sending me, Lord. 

Maybe you are contemplating what God has for your future.  Maybe this blog might be the nudge you need to go for it.  God’s kingdom needs more workers living with their bags packed. 

Want to take the end of this blog to plug a book I’ve started reading.  Richard Stearns, the president of World Vision U.S., wrote about his call to the position.  The book, The Hole in Our Gospel, tells of his struggle to leave his position as CEO of Lenox to become the front man for a Christian relief organization.  He wrote:  “I wish I could tell you that I accepted this call with a sense of spiritual excitement and passion to help the broken people of the world.  I’d like to say that I boldly prayed, “Here I am, Lord.  Send me.” — that I was eager to seize the opportunity to serve.  But that would be a lie.”  It can be a hard thing to be drafted for the Lord’s purposes. Read chapter two of Stearns’ book and you will see that Richard possessed a reluctance that would make Moses’ calling look like an eager enlistment.  And yet the reward was so great.

I close with a quote from David Platt’s aforementioned book:  “Meanwhile, Jesus commands us to go.  He has created each of us to take the gospel to the ends of the earth, and I propose that anything less than radical devotion to this purpose is unbiblical Christianity.”

One thought on “Lord, Here am I… But Send Somebody Else

Leave a Reply

