Treasure These Moments

Luke 2:19

19But Mary treasured up all these things and pondered them in her heart.

I was working the jewelry counter at a major department store last week and found myself helping a older woman with a diamond bracelet.  She was having a time getting the clasp open, so I helped.  As I was opening the lobster clasp, I said:  “You know… this is what husbands are for.”  She responded:  “I know.  But my husband of 30 years died three years ago.  He used to buy me a piece of jewelry every Christmas.  This is his gift to me this year.”  I told her I was sorry for her loss, she told me not to be.  She had a wonderful marriage and hadn’t celebrated Christmas much since his passing, but it was time to celebrate again.

I mentioned something about Janine and how we were going out to eat and then go home and watch a sappy Christmas movie.  She laughed and then she got very serious.  She looked we straight in the eye and said deliberately:  “Treasure these moments.”

A helpful reminder this time of year.

Leave a Reply

