Resolute!

1 Timothy 1:12 – I know whom I have  believed and am persuaded that He is able to keep what I have committed to Him until that Day. 

New Years Resolutions… they have been called the to-do lists for the first week of January.  Hopefully they have more staying power than that.  I found a distinctly modern one from Jenna Wortham of the New York Times’ Gadgetwise column: 

“In particular, I’ve been thinking a lot about distracted interactions, or as my colleague Nick Bilton described it, taking a step back from the digital world from time to time, especially when I’m with another person. Sometimes it’s a bit too easy to check Twitter or reply to a text message during a lull in conversation or whip out a phone to post to Tumblr or Instagram when inspiration hits. One of my main resolutions is to work on remedying that and being a bit more present in my daily life.”  (http://gadgetwise.blogs.nytimes.com/2010/12/30/whats-your-tech-resolution-for-2011/?scp=1&sq=resolutions&st=cse)

Sounds like a good suggestion.  How about you?  Are you resolute to do something this year?  Write a novel?  Get to the gym?  Loose weight?  These are all excellent ideas.  This year I am resolved to trust Him more.

A song from the 1800’s always comes to mind when I read today’s text.  The text to the hymn “I Know Whom I Have Believed” was written by Major Daniel Webster Whittle in 1883.  He came to faith in Jesus after being severely injured during the Battle of Vicksburg in the Civil War.  Captured and recovering from his wounds in a Confederate hospital, he was bored one day and picked up a New Testament and began to read it.  It wasn’t long before he felt a need to accept Christ as his Savior.  He did not feel he was ready at that moment, however.  Not long afterward a hospital orderly woke him up and ask him to come pray with a dying soldier.  He told the attendant to find someone else.  The orderly said, “But I thought you were a Christian; I have seen you reading your Bible.”

Whittle wrote:  “I dropped on my knees and held the boy’s hand in mine.  In a few broken words, I confessed my sins and asked Christ to forgive me.  I believed right there  that He did forgive me.  I then prayed and pleaded God’s promises.  When I arose from my knees, he was dead.  A look of peace had come over his troubled face, and I cannot but believe that God had used him to bring me to the Savior [and had] used me to lead him to trust Christ’s precious blood and find pardon.”  (Robert J. Morgan, Then Sings My Soul, Book Two, p. 191)

Whittle later wrote this hymn which begins:  “I know not why God’s wondrous grace to me he hath made known.  Nor why, unworthy, Christ in love redeemed me for his own.  But I know whom I have believed and am persuaded that He is able to keep that which I’ve committed unto Him against that day.”

The trust I exhibited in accepting the Savior on December 14th, 1980 is the same trust I need to exhibit in 2011.  This year I am resolved to make my life not so much about my accomplishments – the pounds I take off or the bad habit I lay down – but about my faith in His leading.  I am resolved to take a step back from not only the digital world but from every other distraction… that I might know Him more.

One thought on “Resolute!

  1. The story of Mr. Whittle is wonderful and I had never heard it before.

    Your final paragraph sums up what I have been thinking about and is my desire this New Year. To be resolved to KNOW HIM MORE. To put Him FIRST in my life all the time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

