The Song God Loves to Sing

father and sonZephaniah 3:17

What is your favorite song?  If you are as crazy about music as I am… you have a list.  You don’t?  Okay… so I must be the crazy one.  My top ten includes:  #1 – When God Ran by Benny Hester — #2 – We Are the Reason by David Meese — #3 – She Believes in Me by Kenny Rogers.

As a teen I used to listen to Casey Kasem’s American Top 40 every week.  I was excited to hear at the beginning of a particular week’s broadcast that there was going to be “a brand new #1 song.”

There is a new #1 song in my heart today.  Sorry, Benny.  Sorry, David and Kenny.  You have all been moved down a notch.  My new #1 song is Zephaniah 3:17 –The Lord your God is with you, the Mighty Warrior who saves.  He will take great delight in you; in his love he will no longer rebuke you, but will rejoice over you with singing. (NIV)

God’s song over me is my new #1!!!!

How about you?   What would it mean for you, if you could really hear… deep down in your soul… a melody that resonated how much God truly delights in you how he would rather sing over you than rebuke you?  I think that song would change your life.  It has mine.

Richard Foster tells the story of a friend of his who was walking in a shopping mall with his three-year-old son:

“Lyman [James] is a radio disk jockey. One of the best. He’s known on the radio as “Rymin’ Lyman.” He’s also the father of three lovely children, and one day he was spending the afternoon in a shopping mall with his three-year-old son Zackery. But it was just one of those days and Zackery was in a particularly cantankerous mood, fussing and fuming. Lyman tried everything to quiet his son. Nothing seemed to help. Zackery simply would not obey.

Then, I guess under some special inspiration, Lyman scooped up his son, and, holding him close to his chest, he began singing an impromptu love song to him. He just made it up. None of the words rhymed. He sang off-key. And yet, as best he could this father began sharing his heart with his son. “I love you, Zackery” he sang. “I’m so glad you’re my boy. You make me happy. I like the way you laugh.” Things like that. Zackery began to calm down. On they went from one store to the next. Quietly Lyman kept singing, making up words that didn’t rhyme and were sung off-key. And Zackery laid his head on his father’s shoulder, listening to this strange and wonderful song.

Finally they finished shopping and went to the car. As Lyman opened the door and prepared to buckle his son into the car seat, Zackery lifted up his head and said simply, “Sing it to me again Daddy! Sing it to me again!”

Foster added:  “You see, prayer is a little like that. With simplicity of heart we allow ourselves to be gathered up into the arms of the Abba of Jesus and let him sing his love song over us.”

Prayer is not just some duty I need to perform in order to be a “good little Christian.”  Is it a duty  to have to listen to a loved one express their devotion to us?  Not really.

The question is:  Have we gotten close enough to God to hear His song lately?

Well, that’s my brand new #1 song this week.  Next week? All I have to say is:  “Sing it to me again, God.  Sing it to me again!”

Leave a Reply

